Life Sciences                                         

Prof Karalyn Patterson, University of Cambridge, UK

Dr Kelly Nguyen, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK

Dr Cécile Martinat, I-STEM, France

Prof Laura Colgin, University of Texas Austin, USA

Prof Elspeth Garman, University of Oxford, UK

Prof Naomi Matsuura, University of Toronto, Canada

Prof Zena Werb, University of California, San Francisco, USA

Prof Gisou van der Goot, EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland

Prof Claudia Mazzà, University of Sheffield, UK

Dr Veronique Miron, University of Edinburgh, UK


Prof Samantha Joye, University of Georgia, USA

Life Sciences 2020.png

Awards Announcement

Leading women scientists have been chosen by their peers to receive a prestigious award celebrating their achievements. The winners will be honoured at an online celebration on Friday 6 November 2020. This will be the sixth Suffrage Science Awards for the Life Sciences and the third Suffrage Science Awards for Mathematics and Computing... Read More

Meet the Awardees

Find out more about this year's Life Sciences Awardees in our series of interviews, here.

Nomination Speeches

Read the reasons for nomination of the Life Sciences 2020 Suffrage Science Awardees here.

Ceremony News Article

A year like no other made for an unconventional Suffrage Science awards night. Two handovers of the scheme, which celebrates and inspires women in science, were marked in a virtual event with guests attending from the comfort of their home. The sixth ‘life sciences’ and third ‘maths and computing’ ceremonies may not have taken place in a grand venue, but the hopeful energy of the night transpired through everyone’s computer screens... Read More