To mark this date, on the eve of Ada Lovelace Day, the MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences (LMS), hosted the Maths and Computing Suffrage Science awards at the British Library, London. Eleven modern day role models passed on their heirloom jewellery awards in a researcher to researcher relay.

The evening was one of celebration and reflection, highlighting the successes and progress that has been made since 2016, but emphasising the importance of broadening diversity and inclusion across the gender barriers to other diverse characteristics and underrepresented groups in society.

This year’s awards were hosted at the British Library, an apt setting with the recent development of the Turing Institute and inspiring displays of Ada Lovelace correspondence to Babbage and suffrage documents in the Treasures Gallery.

The awards, hosted by former BBC journalist, Susan Watts, included a panel discussion made up of 2016 Suffrage Science award holders, Professor Carron Shankland and Professor Dame Celia Hoyles and 2018 Suffrage Science award holder Professor Ursula Martin.

The starting point of the discussion was the pipeline issues within mathematics and computer science, but expanded across the value of networks, role models and representation. There was extensive discussion about the importance of sharing the responsibility of encouraging and championing diversity in all its forms, with informed contributions from the audience.

Congratulations to our 2018 Suffrage Science awardees in the Maths and Computing branch. Below you can see the 2016 holders of the awards and who they nominated to pass their heirloom onto:

2016 holders

Christl Donnelly

Jane Hutton

Frances Kirwan

Sylvia Richardson

Gwyneth Stallard

Ann Blandford

Muffy Calder

Leslie Goldberg

Wendy Hall

Carron Shankland

Celia Hoyles

2018 award winners:

Ruth Keogh

Terez Neocleous

Nina Snaith

Daniela De Angelis

Eugenie Hunsicker

Sally Fincher

Julie McCann

Jane Hillston

Ursula Martin

Hannah Dee

Vicky Neale

© 2023 by Suffrage Science. Proudly created with