top of page
  • Suffrage Science

Maths and Computing 2020: Nomination Speeches

The 2018 Suffrage Science Awardees on why they have nominated the next recipients of their award.


Professor Ruth Keogh of London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, nominated Dr Rhian Daniel of Cardiff. Professor Keogh said:

“Rhian is a brilliant biostatistician working on methods for studying cause-and-effect relationships using complex and high dimensional observational data, and has done fundamental research in this field. She is a supportive and fun colleague who always comes up with a solution to a tricky problem, and is a generous supervisor of students and early-career researchers. Rhian is also a role model for mothers in academia, and during the pandemic has been combining her research, including scientific work relating to Covid-19, with co-caring for her two small children.”


Dr Tereza Neocleous of University of Glasgow, nominated Dr Juhyun Park of Lancaster University and ENSIIE. Dr Neocleous said:

“Juhyun's research in statistics combines mathematical rigour with practical applications in emerging fields such as the monitoring of complex multivariate health data. Juhyun has also made important contributions in training the next generation of researchers in mathematical statistics.”


Dr Nina Snaith of University of Bristol, nominated Professor Apala Majumdar of University of Strathclyde. Dr Snaith said:

“Apala does outstanding research in liquid crystals and partially ordered materials. “She stands out because of the vast array of collaborations she maintains, from pure mathematicians to projects with industry. Her absolute dedication to mathematics has led to a brilliant and prolific output of interdisciplinary work.”


Professor Daniela De Angelis of MRC Biostatistics Unit, Cambridge, nominated Professor Bianca De Stavola of University College London. Professor De Angelis said:

“Bianca plays a key role in medical statistics, particularly in the area of causal inference, where she has made a fundamental contribution to the dissemination of methodologies and their application to real life problems. Bianca’s career has also been characterised by her generosity in developing the potential of young statisticians and the support to female scientists. This award is a well-deserved recognition of these contributions.”


Dr Eugénie Hunsicker of Loughborough University, nominated Professor Sara Lombardo of Loughborough University. Dr Hunsicker said:

“Professor Lombardo is a brilliant and innovative mathematician working in the area of integral systems, with a particular interest in the deep connections between algebra and integral systems that are of relevance for areas as diverse as mathematical physics and number theory. She is a fantastic role model for women in mathematics, and has also demonstrated a long-standing commitment to improving diversity in mathematics. For example, she has been part of the Mathematical Sciences Strategic Advisory Team, working to influence funding policy to bring about better funding outcomes in terms of diversity. In this role, she has recently been named as an EDI champion.”


Professor Sally Fincher of University of Kent, nominated Professor Wendy Mackay of Inria, Paris-Saclay and the Université Paris-Saclay. Professor Fincher said:

“Not only is Wendy an outstanding researcher but her dedication to leadership, both within Inria and more widely in service to the CHI community, is an abiding inspiration. Seeing how Wendy cares absolutely for the health and vigour of the research community, and having the reassurance that Wendy will “always be there”, has encouraged me (and many others) to step up to leadership roles in our own turn.”


Professor Julie McCann of Imperial College London, nominated Professor Yvonne Rogers of University College London. Professor McCann said:

“Yvonne is not only a top computer scientist with a background mix of CS and Psychology with a significant number of awards, publications, she also leads the University College London Interaction Centre at UCL. I worked with her when we both PI'ed the ICRI in Urban IoT for Intel and learned so much about my own subject from her regarding the user and human aspects of sensing systems and how they are or should be used. This incentivised me to start to explore the more ethical sides of my work (privacy etc.). She is super influential internationally but what I'm impressed by is that she thinks differently and brings new questions to the subject- she makes one think. She is a champion for more women into computing and has guided many female computer scientists, and others, to their own successes.”


Professor Jane Hillston of University of Edinburgh, nominated Professor Alexandra Silva of University College London. Professor Hillston said:

“Alexandra works at UCL in the Computer Science Department. She is an outstanding scholar as witness by the Presburger award, the Needham award and a Wolfson Fellowship for her work in algebra, semantics and computation. Moreover, as well as acting as a wonderful role model, she actively promotes the careers of early career researchers, particularly female early career researchers.”


Professor Ursula Martin of University of Oxford, nominated Professor Nobuko Yoshida of Imperial College London. Professor Martin said:

“Professor Yoshida is a distinguished computer scientist, currently holder of a major fellowship from UKRI, a distinguished mentor to many students and postdocs, especially to women, and to members of the Japanese research community.”


Dr Hannah Dee of Aberystwyth University, nominated Dr Sue Sentence of the Raspberry Pi Foundation and King’s College London. Dr Dee said:

“Sue Sentence’s research into computing in schools and the ways in which children learn how to program has led to many innovations in teaching, and her pedagogical model PRIMM has been adopted by teachers worldwide. I think that the work she does is important- researchers need to look at what happens in schools, particularly when we consider gender. Girls are put off computing long before they get to Universities, and an understanding of how children learn about computing and the ways in which we can support girls in tech is going to be vital to reverse this trend.”


Dr Vicky Neale of University of Oxford, nominated Dr Anne-Marie Imafidon of STEMettes. Dr Neale said:

“Anne-Marie is an inspiring communicator about the benefits of maths and computer science, and through her work co-founding the STEMettes and beyond has found creative ways to reach out to young women. She is a role model for young women interested in maths and computer science.”

104 views0 comments


bottom of page